ARPAS Newsletter

ARPAS Spring 2022 Newsletter

View Newsletters by Issue

Published on Wednesday, February 26, 2020

Call for Nominations for 2020 Distinguished Professional Animal Scientist

The ARPAS Distinguished Professional Animal Scientist award is bestowed annually on one or more emeritus members of ARPAS who have made significant contributions to the animal sciences during their active career and also served in a leadership position with ARPAS.

Nominations may be made by any member of ARPAS. Final selection will be made by the ARPAS executive committee with confirmation from the ARPAS governing council. The number of awards each year will not exceed 0.2% of the total ARPAS membership. Please contact any member of the ARPAS Governing Council or send your nomination by email to Brittany Morstatter.

Recipients of this award will be recognized with an article in the newsletter and the Applied Animal Science journal and given a tribute at our annual meeting. A suitable award will be presented to them on this occasion. They will also be granted lifetime membership in ARPAS with emeritus privileges.

The 2019 Distinguished Professional Animal Scientist award recipients were Dr. Carl Hunt (ARPAS Treasurer: 2008-2015, Western Director: 2004-2007, ASAS Representative: 2006-2009, PNW Chapter Treasurer: 2012-2018 and currently on the PNW scholarship committee, Charter diplomat of the American College of Animal Nutrition: 1995) and Dr. Robin Keyser (Washington DC Chapter Secretary: 2010-Present, Recipient of the Dr. Vernon G. Pursel Memorial Distinguished Service Award in 2016).

We have now presented 30 of our former leaders of ARPAS with this award since its inception in 2008.

Number of views (733)